Foreign ExchangeSimplified!
+91 91 111 111 19

DKK - Danish Kroner



The krone was introduced in 1873, replacing the Danish Rigsdaler. It was introduced when Denmark joined the Scandinavian Monetary Union in 1873, which lasted only until the First World War. In the monetary union, the krone was placed on the gold standard with 2480 kroner equaling to 1 kg gold. The abandonment of the gold standard was followed by the dissolution of the monetary union in 1914.

The Danish krone is used also in Greenland and Faroe Islands but the Faroese krona is just a separate set of the Danish krone.

Denmark opted out of the Maastricht Treaty which resulted in Denmark, along with Norway and Sweden, keeping its krone currency. The rest of the European Union braced the euro currency.

The krone is subdivided to 100 øre. The 1, 2, 5 øre denominations were made of bronze, 10, 25 øre, 1, 2 kroner in silver, and 10, 20 kroner in gold. In 1917, gold coins were ceased in production while the silver coins were ceased in 1919. In 1918 to 1924, Bronze was replaced with Iron, the 10, 25 øre in cupro-nickel, and 1, 2 kroner, ½ kroner in aluminum-bronze. Zinc coins were introduced in 1941.

The 1, 2, 5, 10, 25 øre coins all ceased production in 2008, with the 25 øre being the last. The current coins in circulation are the 50 øre in tin-bronze, 1, 2, 5 kroner in cupronickel, and 10, 20 kroner made in aluminum bronze. Notes that are in current circulation have denomination of 50, 100, 200, 500, and 1000 kroner. 10 krone notes were introduced in 1875 but were replaced by coins in 1979. On the same year was the introduction of 20 krone notes but was replaced by coins also. 5 krone notes were introduced in 1898 and were replaced by coins in 1960, 1 krone notes were circulated from 1914 to 1921.

Currency Profile

The official currency for the Kingdom of Denmark is the Danish Krone (DKK). The Krone is currently pegged to the Euro. The Krone is subdivided into 100 ore. The symbol for the Krone is kr, DKR or as Dkr in daily use. Another the name for the Krone is the Danish Crown. According to the ISO 4217 regulations, the official currency code of the Danish krone is DKK and the numeric code for the currency is 208. Krone is called "kroner" in plural terms and has its subunit in the form of “øre”.

The word krone has its meaning as "crown" in the English language. Denmark is one of the highly technological agriculture countries in Europe and as well as in the world. The country is has its balance of payment in positive and this fact shows that Denmark has a well-settled industry setup, most of them indulging in the food and energy sectors. The developed economy of Denmark enjoys a comparatively stable currency as it is closely pegged to the euro. The self-governing provinces of Faroe Islands and Greenland also make use of the Danish currency, Faroe Islands generally use the Danish krone coins and Greenland use the banknotes as well.

The country advocates a liberal trade policy. The main industries are textiles, clothing, windmills, food processing, chemicals, steel, iron, gas, furniture, wood, shipbuilding, and non-ferrous metals. Export products are meat, Christmas trees, wood, fish, diary products, potted plants, furniture, pharmaceuticals, instruments, and machinery. Import products are chemicals, grains, foodstuffs, raw materials, equipment, and machinery. Unemployment is 4.1% and poverty is rated as not applicable, because Denmark runs a broad-reaching welfare system. Inflation for the country is 1.3%

For latest updates on currency rankings, most popular currency exchanges, currency codes and currency converter; simply log on to for best Danish Kroner exchange rates at your doorstep. Enter your requirement and watch the money changers compete with each other to give you the best rates.
Kings XI Punjab